What’s Your Digits? Take 3: Proportions

When mesh was fresh and new, I did the second Digits challenge, and now I figured I’d do the third. I read Berry’s first post, and instantly saw the suggestion of lengthening your arms. I tried it, to see if it made any sort of a difference, and now that I look at my old shape, I’m frightened at how I used to look.

Now, I know the pictures don’t show a huge difference, but I’m pretty damned happy with my own results. While I didn’t think my shape was a ‘proportions offender’, it goes to show that fiddling with the sliders just to see is pretty helpful.

Proportions

Proportions Challenge Questions:

  1. Do you try and keep your avatar’s body proportionate and similar to the “average” proportions pictured on my blog? – I don’t follow a ‘guideline’, I simply try to go for what looks normal by real life human standards.
  2. What do you dislike the most about the SL avatar mesh? – The fact that, even with standard sizing, each store seems to have a different idea of what this means. I find that in one store, I wear a XXS (which seams absolutely nuts to me) in a pair of shorts, and a M elsewhere.
  3. Does it bother you when you see other avatars that are not proportionate at all? – Yes. Yes, yes, yes. The insanely wide shoulders, small heads, tiny waists, and huge butts need to be fixed, but this is probably my OCD talking.
  4. Even though this is a virtual world and people can be anything they want to be, do you feel when they are in human form, they should try to keep their proportions close to average? – Nah. Someone’s avatar is what they infidelity as. Girl players have guy avs, people play furries, hybrids, tinies, even children. I for one don’t look a stitch like my avatar.

Valena Vacanos’s digits: After reading Berry’s original post, I took a look at my shape and changed a few things. I was amazed at the simple difference (even though it’s not very visible in the picture). Both my legs and arms have been lengthened, but the overall height remains the same.  I’m wearing SLink mesh feet and tend to wear M to XS in mesh standard sizing, depending on the creator.
Height: 60 (6’1″ using the Avatar Ruler)
Body Thickness: 25
Body Fat: 7
Head Size: 40
Torso Muscle: 40
Breast Size: 45
Arm Length: 85
Hand Size: 20
Torso Length: 40
Love Handles: 27
Belly Size: 0
Leg Muscle: 47
Leg Length: 30
Hip Width: 51
Hip Length: 40
Saddle Bags: 31

2 thoughts on “What’s Your Digits? Take 3: Proportions

  1. I recently measured from middle fingertip to middle fingertip using a prim and compared that to my height….not sure if that was a good ruler, but I’m happy with the results of that for my arms! Thank goodness with Slink hands you can easily also increase their size, using the palm to middle fingertip ruler as well.

Leave a Reply

