Trying to Get Into the Spirit

The holidays are always a little rough around my RL household. I truly hate being away from my daughter during the holidays. Then my step-daughter, who has just turned 17 and has proven to be more of a handful than I ever thought she would be, often chooses the holidays as the perfect stage to perform her very own drama. It makes me want to throw in the towel and skip the holidays all together.

You see, when I was growing up my family was extremely close. Our holidays were FULL of traditions. Every year the day after Thanksgiving my dad would drag all of the Christmas stuff out of the attic and the fun would begin! My VERY important job was separating the branches of our artificial (I was allergic to real one’s) Christmas tree by the little colors painted on the metal ends. It was my job and I was brilliant at it! Next, my dad would start to put it together and I was his assistant. He would ask for a color, I would hand him a branch, it was very, very technical!

Next my mom would fluff the branches and string the lights before perfectly placing the delicate glass balls evenly throughout the tree. Then, she let us loose! We each had a box of ornaments that we had been painting year after year and we trimmed the tree like nobody’s business. It was an awesome tradition, and I swore that when I was grown-up and had a family, I would carry this tradition on. However, I guess things don’t always work out as we planned, hmm?

Christmas-Decorating_003

So, I decided to trim the tree in my Second Life home instead, thanks to this adorable pose/prop set from Sway’s, I was able to do so. Doesn’t it look lovely so far?

Christmas-Decorating_001

Oh! While we’re on the subject of Sway, I need to mention a very special event coming up called Together for Sway. Sway Dench, a beloved creator, is facing the removal of a tumor from her brain. This will leave her unable to work for a while and some of her amazing friends got together and organized a fundraiser to ease some of the financial burden that Sway will face. Click HERE for more information on the event.

Together for Sway | Second Life Fashion Blogs

Perhaps focusing on helping others will bring that ol’ Christmas spirit back!

xoxo

Shiloh ❤

What I’m Wearing

Skin: Belleza | Wynter | Fifty Linden Fridays (Hurry you still have some time left!)

Hair: Wasabi Pills |

Lips: Izzie’s | Lipstick Natural

Jacket: Foppish | | Group Gift

Turtleneck: Fri.day | Turtleneck

Necklace: Maxi Gossamer | Santa Fe Necklace | FaMESHed

Skirt/Leggings: ColdLogic |twist.snow

Boots: GoS | Triumph

Hands: SLink | Mesh Hands (Casual)

Stuff

Pose: Sway’s | Christmas Tree Decorating

Gift Boxes: {what next} | Gift Boxes

Tree Skirt: Lunaria | Quilted Red and Green Snowman Christmas Tree Skirt

Leave a Reply

