Where Does Your Inspiration Come From?

Katya Valeska, an amazing blogger and person, blogged earlier about the pressure she puts on herself to blog, and how it can affect her inspiration. Let me tell you, she is not alone.

Writers, artists and creatives in general, wax poetic about one word – inspiration. It can be the wind beneath our wings, and the bane of our existence, depending upon how readily available, or how elusive it is.

As a former paid writer in RL, I can tell you the well of inspiration often runs dry and yet, you have to dig down deep, past the hardened crust, and into the muck to pull out something, ANYTHING to meet your deadline while keeping your reputation as a competent writer intact. You might think now that I am blogging for enjoyment, that the pressure would be alleviated and I’d have inspiration out the wazoo. It just isn’t so, inspiration’s a fickle little thing.

My newest ploy to defeat the reluctant muse, is to keep a dream journal. It’s just a simple notebook at my bedside. Each morning when I wake, eyes bleary and my gorgeous bed head sticking out in all directions, and I will write what ever details I can remember about the night’s dreams and nightmares. Whatever I can remember… it doesn’t have to be a novel. If I remember a color (I don’t care what science says, I dream in color… they’re ridiculous) or perhaps it’s the way I feel… what I call the residue of a dream… I’ll write that down too. Perhaps I’ll find some good imagery to produce a new photo, or the perfect sentence to start that short story I keep meaning to write. I haven’t yet, but I’ll keep on trying.

Our subconscious mind is far more creative than our waking selves. It’s bold, brave and uninhibited. Unlock it and discover what inspiration is hiding right there under your nose, or behind your eyelids.

Where Does Your Inspiration Come From?

What I’m Wearing

Skin: Leah Skin Pinkys Fair by EnvyMe exclusively for Fairy Closet

Hair: Taleen Mesh Hair (black coffee) by Wasabi Pills

Outfit: Nixie (platinum) by Severed Garden

Pose: Fairy Crossing by WetCat for Fairy Closet

Location: Enchanted Unicorn

2 thoughts on “Where Does Your Inspiration Come From?

  1. Great post! I totally get everything you said. Sometimes, many times I have to dig deep for ideas to write/blog about. I also keep a journal but I’m not very disciplined. Inspiration is fleeting, but then there are those days where there are so many ideas that you can’t write them down fast enough. I love days like those!

    • Aww thank you so much Epione! I’m not as disciplined as I should be either, but at least we make the effort! 🙂 And yes, I can’t wait for one of those awesome days, feeling creatively bankrupt can really get me down!

Leave a Reply

